Ms Dhoni Steps Down As CSK Captain In IPL 2022

Chennai Super Kings’ MS Dhoni, who has led the team since 2008 when the Indian Premier League started, stepped down for Ravindra Jadeja as the team captain on Thursday. MS Dhoni confirmed his decision just two days before the IPL 2022 season kicks off.

In a statement, the CSK stated that the former captain would keep representing Chennai Super Kings during this season and for the foreseeable future. “MS Dhoni has decided to hand over the leadership of Chennai Super Kings and picked Ravindra Jadeja to lead the team. Jadeja, who has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2012, will only be the third player to lead CSK. Dhoni will continue to represent Chennai Super Kings this season and beyond,” stated CSK.

Dhoni, who has led his team for a long time now and won four times, could be resigning after this IPL season. He is currently 40 years, and he is no longer playing international cricket.

MS Dhoni will be remembered as the CSK’s second most successful captain after Rohit Sharma of Mumbai Indians for leading his teams well and winning four trophies. Under Dhoni’s leadership, CSK became the best IPL franchise after qualifying for all playoffs except one in 15 years.

When Dhoni took the responsibility of captaining the CSK team, they finished as the runners-up in the first IPL season. He led them to their first win in 2010, where they secured the trophy after beating Mumbai Indians in the finals. In 2011, they went to the finals and bagged another trophy, becoming the first team to win twice in a row.

CSK are the defending champions, and on Saturday, they will kick start their campaigns at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai against Kolkata Knight Riders, who were last season’s runners-up. It will be the first time Jadeja will be the captain after Dhoni and Suresh Raina, making him the third player to lead Chennai Super Kings.

CSK player squad in IPL 2022

1. Who is the captain of csk in IPL 2022?

Ravindra Jadeja