Sri Lanka vs Namibia T20 world cup match 4: Sri Lanka wins the match by 7 wickets

  • Sri Lanka: 100/3 (13.3)
  • Namibia: 96/10 (19.3)

Sri Lanka win by 7 wickets

ICC T20 world cup is started and this is the fourth match between Sri Lanka and Namibia in the Seikh Zayed cricket stadium in Abu Dhabi. Sri Lanka wins the toss and chooses to bowl. After the first inning, the chasing score was 97. It is a very easy score to chase and the pitch is in the favor of chasers so this is good for the chasing team. Sri Lankan batsman come on the pitch, opening batsman are, Pathnum Nissanka and Kusal Perera.

The first over was simple over, they don’t hit any boundary. But in the second over, Kusal Perera lost his wicket. R Trumpelman took the wicket of Kusal Perera. It is a bad starting for Sri Lanka, they lost another wicket in the second over. Pathnum nissanka was out by lbw format. The score was 18/2. Very disappointing for the Sri Lankan cricket team because they have lost both opening batsmen in the first two overs. They lost their third wicket in the 5th over, Dinesh Chandimal was caught out by Green and the bowler was JJ Smith.

In the same over, Fernando hits a huge six. In the 6th and 7th overs, they hit boundaries and take responsibility for the match. By the end of the 8th overs, the score of Sri Lanka was 50/3, they competed for their 50 runs. In the 8th over, Rajapaksa hits a six to Scholtz. In the 9th over, they hit two boundaries as fours. The score was 68/3. By this time, they have not lost any wicket after the third wicket. The batsman is now in a form.

By the end of the 12th over the score was 80/3 and their seven wickets are now safe. The score was not so high to worry about. But the starting of Sri Lanka as batting put everyone in trouble. But after that, Fernando and Rajapaksa took the game at a good level, they save their wickets as well as they move towards winning. By the end of the 13th over, the score was 91/3 and they need only seven runs to win the match.

In 14th over, Rajapaksa hits a six and they win the match. The final score of Sri Lanka was 100/3. Sri Lanka won the match by 7 wickets. The last ball was six and a great ending of the match by the side of Sri Lankan players. Namibia has to face disappointment. They came back to the pavilion.

Playing XI in both the teams-

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera (wk), Pathum Nissanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara

Namibia: Stephan Baard, Zane Green (wk), Craig Williams, Gerhard Erasmus (capt), David Wiese, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, Pikky Ya France, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Ruben Trumpelmann, Bernard Scholtz

Umpires: Adrian Holdstock (RSA), Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Batting Sri Lanka (SL) ScorecardRB4s6s
Pathum Nissanka (lbw b Bernard Scholtz)5600
Kusal Perera (W) (c JJ Smit b Ruben Trumpelmann)11820
Dinesh Chandimal (c Zane Green b JJ Smit)51200
Avishka Fernando302802
Bhanuka Rajapaksa422742

Leave a Comment