T20 World Cup Champions Team List

Cricket is a very popular sport in many countries. We talk all about the T20 World Cup Champions Team List. It is like a religion in India. The emergence of this shortest format of cricket has taken the entertainment factor to another level. The large cricket fans always look forward to the T20 World Cup. With the World Cup tournament has set to begin soon, the excitement level all around is incomparable.

Initially, the World tournament was held in India, but due to the covid-19 pandemic, the tournament was postponed to 2021 and moved to the UAE and Oman. Now the T20 World Cup 2021 is touching distance and the teams are looking to kick to their preparation ahead of the World Cup. With the World Cup coming soon, let us now look at the previous winners of the Trophies and how they performed in their campaign.

T20 World Cup Champions Team List Over The Year

India: 2007 T20 World Cup Champions

The Men Blue was the first-ever winner of the T20 World cup. This team won World Cup under the captaincy of young Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni in 2007. India was considered underdogs in the tournament because players like Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, and Saurav Ganguly had called their names opted out of World Cup. Without the seniors in the tournament, the expectations on the young team were not very high.

The young boys were played well and bring out their full potential to lift the World cup trophy. It was like miracles for many Indians fans. A collective performance from the entire team at various stages and the great captaincy of MS Dhoni made India win the first T20 World Cup 2007. Final Were against Pakistan and scores were are on ties. India won the match by bowled out in the super over.

The tournament was remembered for Yuvraj Singh’s six sixes in an over against England’s pace bowler Sturt Broad. Finally, India beat Pakistan in the front full-packed stadium. The win was unexpected and it helped to boost the franchise culture in cricket.

Pakistan: 2009 T20 World Cup Champions

After losing narrowly against India in 2007’s World Cup final, Pakistan emerged as the winner of the second edition of the T20 World Cup in 2009. The world cup was held in England. Pakistan started their campaign with a loss in-home team. Finishing as runner-up in the previous edition to the winner of the second edition, the journey was very interesting for their fans.

Pakistan came into the next world cup learning from their mistakes in the past and hope of bettering their last performance, and they did it very handsomely. Pakistan was pretty much the dominant team in that tournament. Kamran Akmal and Younis Khan stood up with the bat while the bowling was on a high. Umar Gul finished as the leading wicket-taker in the tournament. Saeed Ajmal was very consistent with the ball for Pakistan. Winner of Man of The series for 2007’s tournament Shahid Afridi continues his form in 209’s World Cup.

He made a significant impact with ball and bat for his country and made the team lift the ICC trophy. Afridi made a fifty in the final against Sri Lanka to chase a score of 139. Throughout the tournament, the Pakistan bowlers ensured that the opposition was kept to a low score. Pakistan lost two matches in that tournament but still held on and finished the tournament in style.

England: 2010 T20 World Cup Champions

West Indies hosted the third edition of the T20 World Cup dies in 2010. Due to the power pack strength of every team, it was the most followed tournament. England won the tournament very comfortably. After losing their first match against the home team, West Indies England never looked back. England manages to make the position in semis very smoothly. They defeated South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and the defending champions Pakistan. Finally, they beat their Ashes rivals Australia by a comfortable margin to lift their maiden T20 World Cup trophy in the final.

Lumb and Kiewaswettr was a solid opening pair for England throughout the tournament. Kevin Pieterson was very consistent with his bat in the tournament. England’s final match against Australia was like a one-sided affair. Australia managed to score 147 runs and England chased it very smoothly. And England lifted their first World Cup. The World Cup was held less than a year after the previous edition in order to correct the Cricketing calendar.

West Indies: 2012 T20 World Cup Champions

West Indies was the winner T20 World Cup 2012, which was held in Sri Lanka. The tournament had some thrilling matches in T20 history. There were two super overs in the tournament and the tournament was very heated up in the super 8s. Along with the super over games, the fans saw some other high-profile games between West Indies and Australia on the league stage.

West Indies won their final match against Sri Lanka, who played their second T20 World Cup final. From the score of 14/8 in 6 over, West Indies managed to score 139 runs. Marlon Samuels had done the crucial knock of 78 runs in 56 deliveries. He was awarded the man of the match award for his all-rounder performance in the final. He had taken one wicket by spending only fifteen runs. 

Stooping Indies on 137 runs, Sri Lanka Team management was very happy. But still, they couldn’t chase the target. The Sri Lankan team was included with star players like Mahela Jaywardhana, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, and Lasith Malinga in their squad. However, they managed to score only a hundred and one runs in the second half. Mystery spinner Sunil Narine had taken three wickets in the final.

Some of their games were very closed, but Indies handled the pressure well throughout the tournament to lift the trophy. As a result, West Indies won a World Cup after 1979. Moreover, it helps them to set a template for the T20 format.

Sri Lanka: 2014 T20 World Cup Champions

The fifth edition T20 World Cup was held in Bangladesh. After losing two world cup finals this time, Sri Lanka made no mistake and lifted their maiden cup by defeating India in the finals. Senior player Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene announced their retirement from the T20 Cricket format and joined the tournament as their last T20 World Cup.

The structure of the league was very different at that time, with ten teams in two groups of five. Sri Lanka beat India in the final, who were unbeaten in the league stage and so far in the tournament. This final match was very big for Sri Lanka, who had played four consecutive World Cup finals. They lost the T20 world cup finals of 2010 and 2012 and the ODI World Cup final of 2007 and 2011. Dilshan, Sangakkara, Jayawardene, and Malinga were present in each of these heartbreaks. But that time, they made it happen for Sri Lanka.

Tight Spell from Malinga and Kulasekara, slow inning from Yuvraj Singh kept India scored down to 130 despite Virat Kohli’s brilliant knock of 77 in 56. The Target was chased down by the Lankan team quickly, with Sangakkara scoring fifty in his final T20 match. His made knock made Sri Lanka T20 Cup winner of the year 2014. Kohli was Man of the tournament in that tournament 2014.

West Indies: 2016 T20 World Cup Champions

T20 champions of World cup 2012, West Indies made history by winning another T20 world Cup in 2018. This West Indies beats mighty England in the final. England built at the target of 155 runs which was a good total. Joe root made a handy fifty and the English team made the Indies team weak by taking two early wickets.

This time also Marlon came to the middle and scored a quality knock of 85 runs. The final was remembered for Carlos Brathwaite’s four sixes in an over of quality all-rounder Ben Stokes. A brilliant Cameo from Carlos helped the West Indies to win their second title.

Leave a Comment